A Book Project

After watching Dr. Clauw’s lecture (see in post below), I decided to look up some books on pain management and came across this one:

Managing Pain Before It Manages You by Margaret A Caudill

MM

Here are a few excerpts I highlighted so far in the first chapter …

The fact that you may be sad, angry, or anxious about the disruption of your whole life as a result of the pain experience is both understandable and normal. 

Accepting ownership of your pain [ …] means acknowledging that you are a worthwhile person, that there is a point in doing something, and that you do have choices.

The fact is that a lot more can be done about the emotional response to chronic pain than about the physical experience.

Changing your awareness changes the pain experience.

I’m not ready to give up. I’m not ready to let my pain control my whole life. I am going to fight. If I can’t fight physically, than I will fight mentally and use every tool I can find. I ordered several other pain management CBT type books, but this is the one I am starting with.

On the pain front:

Very little sitting today. Just brief periods of lying on my bed. I’m uncomfortable, but it’s bearable when I stand. I have lost nearly 15 lbs since this pain started at the beginning of March. This week, I have no appetite. Not sure why. I need to lose weight anyways, so I am not super concerned about it. It could be the prednisone. I am on a round of it for 16 days. So far, no relief that I can tell of for the burning sensation. I start Methotrexate tomorrow night. I am afraid, but the only way around fear is to go straight through it. I also made a gynecology appointment for next week to rule out any lady problems.

Think I will go hug my daughter and husband now.

 

 

One thought on “A Book Project

  1. Here’s a book I found really helpful my first year with a diagnosis:
    “Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis (A Johns Hopkins Press Health Book)”
    http://a.co/5kKuC1q

    I helped myself by doing research (like the book, above, but also enlisting my scientist husband’s help to get, and digest, more cutting edge work published in journals), by managing everything I could in my lifestyle (diet, activity, etc.), and by using tools to track my symptoms objectively (I used an app called Symple several times each day) so I could see progress (of the disease or improvement in symptoms) and keep my feelings about it objective. That helps a geek like me. 🙂

    I also got pissed off. Why can I get drugs for pennies, but it is SO HARD to get ongoing physical therapy? Oh, and the most effective “treatment” was warm water exercise, but the ONE PLACE that offered it north of Boston (huge city full of doctors!) shut down after I’d been going there for a little over a month. They lost their lease.

    Some days will just suck, and you have my sympathy for those. But your life isn’t over. You are doing something positive with your bad situation just by starting this blog. I hope that helps you feel a little better, too, knowing you’re another voice for those who feel helpless or hurt by this disease. Some days I’m the voice; some days, I need to hear your voice to get me through!

    Here’s a virtual (gentle, RA friendly) hug to add to those you shared with your family.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

